A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >> Newfoundland and Labrador >> Profile for Newfoundland and Labrador (NL)

The Province of
Newfoundland and Labrador (NL)

<<New Brunswick (NB)Northwest Territories (NT)>>

The capital of Newfoundland and Labrador is Saint John's.

The 2-Letter Postal Abbreviation / Code for Newfoundland and Labrador: NL. (In the past, you'll find situations in which 'LB' was used for Labrador and 'NF' for Newfoundland. These are now obsolete and 'NL' should be used instead.)

Typical abbreviations for Newfoundland and Labrador: Nfld. or  N.F.

Keeping in mind that Canada is officially bilingual, the French name for Newfoundland and Labrador is 'Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador' (which is abbreviated: T.-N.-L. or T.-N.).

The pronunciation of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Time Zone: New Foundland and the Southeastern tip of Labrador are in the Newfoundland Time (NST/NDT) zone and observes daylight saving time.

Labrador, except the Southeastern tip, is in the Atlantic Time (AST/ADT) zone and observes daylight saving time..

Canada has two official languages: English and French. English is the most common language spoken in Newfoundland and Labrador, where approximately 96% of the residents speak only English (ie- Anglophones).

Provincial Motto: "Quaerite Primum Regnum Dei" (Seek ye first the kingdom of God)

Provincial Bird: Atlantic Puffin (fratercula arctica)

Provincial Tree: Black Spruce (picea mariana)

Provincial Flower: Purple Pitcher Plant (sarracenia purpurea)

Confederation: Newfoundland and Labrador joined the Confederation on Mar 31, 1949.

Other Roadside Stops ...

Communities in Newfoundland and Labrador


Provinces Ranked by Population

Provinces Ranked by Area

Provinces Ranked by Population Density


States & Provinces Ranked by Population

States & Provinces Ranked by Area

States & Provinces Ranked by Population Density