A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for KansasQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for Kansas (KS)

The Commemorative State Quarter for Kansas

Coin Issued: August 29, 2005 - the 4th coin released in 2005

Statehood: January 29, 1861 - the 34th State

Inscription: "Kansas 1861"

Description: An American Bison is featured, with Sunflowers to the lower left.

The American Bison is the State Animal of Kansas.

The Sunflower is the State Flower of Kansas.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2005) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Norman Nemeth (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'nen').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Kansas Quarter:

E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Kansas Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  300,000,000
Philadelphia (P):  263,400,000
Total:  563,400,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve (located southwest of Strong City, KS) will be issued in 2020, the last coin issued in 2020 and the 55th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters will be issued in 2020: National Park of America Samoa (American Samoa), Weir Farm National Historic Site (Connecticut), Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve (U.S. Virgin Islands), Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park (Vermont) & Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve (Kansas).

Quarters Issued in 2005




Details for the California Commemorative Quarter Details for the Minnesota Commemorative Quarter Details for the Oregon Commemorative Quarter Details for the Kansas Commemorative Quarter Details for the West Virginia Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About Kansas

Find a Community within Kansas

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 17 Nov 2023