A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for OregonQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for Oregon (OR)

The Commemorative State Quarter for Oregon

Coin Issued: June 6, 2005 - the 3rd coin released in 2005

Statehood: February 14, 1859 - the 33rd State

Inscriptions: "Oregon 1859", "Crater Lake"

Description: Looking toward the Northwest, the western portion of Crater Lake is depicted with Pine trees in the foreground and Wizard Island in the background. Also in the background, on the crater's rim, are Watchman and Hillman Peaks. Above the rim and to the left is the inscription "Crater Lake".

Crater Lake was formed approximately 7,700 years ago after the Mount Mazama volcano erupted. The caldera, which holds Crater Lake, was formed after the top 5,000 feet of the volcano collapsed and then filled with water. Crater Lake is the 7th deepest lake in the world with a depth of 1,932 feet.

Oregon's State Tree is the Douglas Fir.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2005) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Donna Weaver (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'dw').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Oregon Quarter:

Crater Lake
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Oregon Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  404,000,000
Philadelphia (P):  316,200,000
Total:  720,200,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Mount Hood National Forest (located east of Portland, OR) was issued in 2010, the fifth coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters were issued in 2010: Hot Springs National Park (Arkansas), Yellowstone National Park (Wyoming), Yosemite National Park (California), Grand Canyon National Park (Arizona) & the Mount Hood National Forest (Oregon).

Quarters Issued in 2005




Details for the California Commemorative Quarter Details for the Minnesota Commemorative Quarter Details for the Oregon Commemorative Quarter Details for the Kansas Commemorative Quarter Details for the West Virginia Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About Oregon

Find a Community within Oregon

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023