A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for GeorgiaQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for Georgia (GA)

The Commemorative State Quarter for Georgia

Coin Issued: July 19, 1999 - the 4th coin released in 1999

Statehood: January 2, 1788 - the 4th State

Inscriptions: "Georgia 1788", "Wisdom, Justice, Moderation"

Description: A peach is centered in the state outline of Georgia, with Oak sprigs to either side. Draped over the outline and above the peach is a banner with Georgia's State Motto: "Wisdom, Justice, Moderation".

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (1999) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

In what appears to be a design error, the state outline has left out Dade County, which is in the far northwest corner of Georgia.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by T. James Ferrell (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'tjf').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Georgia Quarter:

E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Georgia Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  488,744,000
Philadelphia (P):  451,188,000
Total:  939,932,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Cumberland Island National Seashore (located east of Cabin Bluff, GA) will be issued in 2018, the fourth coin issued in 2018 and the 44th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters will be issued in 2018: Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore (Michigan), Apostle Islands National Lakeshore (Wisconsin), Voyageurs National Park (Minnesota), Cumberland Island National Seashore (Georgia) & Block Island National Wildlife Refuge (Rhode Island).

Quarters Issued in 1999




Details for the Delaware Commemorative Quarter Details for the Pennsylvania Commemorative Quarter Details for the New Jersey Commemorative Quarter Details for the Georgia Commemorative Quarter Details for the Connecticut Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About Georgia

Find a Community within Georgia

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023