A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada

Commemorative State Quarter
for Connecticut

<<Colorado (CO)Delaware (DE)>>

The Commemorative State Quarter for Connecticut
Note: All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint

Coin Issued: October 12, 1999 - the 5th coin released in 1999

Statehood: January 9, 1788 - the 5th State

Inscriptions: "Connecticut 1788", "The Charter Oak"

Description: The Charter Oak served as a hiding place for Connecticut's original Charter. The Charter had been received from King Charles II (in 1662). With the succession of James II to the throne, an attempt was made to withdraw the Charter. To prevent this, the Charter was hidden in a majestic Oak on the Wyllys Estate.

The Charter Oak fell during a storm on August 21, 1856.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (1999) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by T. James Ferrell (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'tjf').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Connecticut Quarter:

The Charter Oak
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Connecticut Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  657,880,000
Philadelphia (P):  688,744,000
Total:  1,346,624,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series:

The quarter for the Weir Farm National Historic Site (located southwest of Branchville, CT) will be issued in 2020, the second coin issued in 2020 and the 52nd coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters will be issued in 2020: National Park of America Samoa (American Samoa), Weir Farm National Historic Site (Connecticut), Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve (U.S. Virgin Islands), Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park (Vermont) & Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve (Kansas).

Coins Issued in 1999

New Jersey
Details for the Delaware Commemorative Quarter Details for the Pennsylvania Commemorative Quarter Details for the New Jersey Commemorative Quarter Details for the Georgia Commemorative Quarter Details for the Connecticut Commemorative Quarter

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Connecticut

Find a Community within Connecticut

Off-the-Road Links ...

The United States Mint


Sitemap Privacy
of Use


Please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write. Click here to contact us.

Copyright 2016
All Rights Reserved
This page was last modified: 11 Oct 2018
By John Hall