A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for New Hampshire
The Commemorative State Quarter for New Hampshire

Coin Issued: August 7, 2000 - the 4th coin released in 2000

Statehood: June 21, 1788 - the 9th State

Inscriptions: "New Hampshire 1788", "Live Free or Die"

Description: The Old Man of the Mountain is featured on the right side of the coin with the words "The Old Man of the Mountain" carved on the formation. To the left is New Hampshire's State Motto: "Live Free or Die".

There are 9 stars along left edge to recognize that New Hampshire is the 9th state.

The "Old Man of the Mountain" was a rock formation located on Mount Cannon, which is southeast of Franconia. The formation appeared to be an old man gazing eastward. The rock formation collapsed during the early morning hours of May 3, 2003 and no longer exists.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2000) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by William Cousins (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'wc').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the New Hampshire Quarter:

New Hampshire
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of New Hampshire Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  495,976,000
Philadelphia (P):  673,040,000
Total:  1,169,016,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the White Mountain National Forest (located in northern New Hampshire) was issued in 2013, the first coin issued in 2013 and the 16th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters were issued in 2013: White Mountain National Forest (New Hampshire), Perry's Victory and International Peace Memorial (Ohio), Great Basin National Park (Nevada), Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine (Maryland) & Mount Rushmore National Memorial (South Dakota).

Quarters Issued in 2000



Details for the Massachusetts Commemorative Quarter Details for the Maryland Commemorative Quarter Details for the South Carolina Commemorative Quarter Details for the New Hampshire Commemorative Quarter Details for the Virginia Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About New Hampshire

Find a Community within New Hampshire

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 17 Sep 2023