A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
<<Maryland (MD)Michigan (MI)>>

The Commemorative State Quarter for Massachusetts
Note: All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint

Coin Issued: January 3, 2000 - the 1st coin released in 2000

Statehood: February 6, 1788 - the 6th State

Inscriptions: "Massachusetts 1788", "The Bay State"

Description: The coin features the Concord Minuteman Statue, with Massachusetts's state outline in the background. The Minuteman Statue shows a farmer wearing a hat and holding a musket. Below the state outline and behind the farmer is a plow.

The Minuteman Statue that is pictured on the Commemorative Quarter is located in Concord (at the North Bridge). The Statue was sculpted by Daniel Chester French and was completed in 1874.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2000) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Thomas D. Rodgers.

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Massachusetts Quarter:

The Bay State
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Massachusetts Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  535,184,000
Philadelphia (P):  628,600,000
Total:  1,163,784,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series:

The quarter for the Lowell National Historical Park (located in Lowell, MA) will be issued in 2019, the first coin issued in 2019 and the 46th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters will be issued in 2019: Lowell National Historical Park (Massachusetts), American Memorial Park (Northern Mariana Islands), War in the Pacific National Historic Park (Guam), San Antonio Missions National Historic Park (Texas) & Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness (Idaho).

Coins Issued in 2000

South Carolina
New Hampshire
Details for the Massachusetts Commemorative Quarter Details for the Maryland Commemorative Quarter Details for the South Carolina Commemorative Quarter Details for the New Hampshire Commemorative Quarter Details for the Virginia Commemorative Quarter

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Massachusetts

Find a Community within Massachusetts

Off-the-Road Links ...

The United States Mint




Sitemap Privacy
of Use



Copyright 2020
All Rights Reserved

Please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write. Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified: 20 Feb 2021