A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for MississippiQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for Mississippi (MS)

The Commemorative State Quarter for Mississippi

Coin Issued: October 15, 2002 - the 5th coin released in 2002

Statehood: December 10, 1817 - the 20th State

Inscriptions: "Mississippi 1817", "The Magnolia State"

Description: The coin depicts two Magnolia blossoms. To the upper left is the inscription "The Magnolia State".

The Magnolia is the State Flower of Mississippi, which is native to the Southeastern United States and has large white flowers (up to 15-inches across).

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2002) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Donna Weaver (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'dw').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Mississippi Quarter:

The Magnolia State
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Mississippi Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  289,600,000
Philadelphia (P):  290,000,000
Total:  579,600,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Vicksburg National Military Park (located at Vicksburg, MS) was issued in 2011, the fourth coin issued in 2011 and the 9th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters were issued in 2011: Gettysburg National Military Park (Pennsylvania), Glacier National Park (Montana), Olympic National Park (Washington), Vicksburg National Military Park (Mississippi) & Chickasaw National Recreation Area (Oklahoma).

Quarters Issued in 2002

Details for the Tennessee Commemorative Quarter Details for the Ohio Commemorative Quarter Details for the Louisiana Commemorative Quarter Details for the Indiana Commemorative Quarter Details for the Mississippi Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About Mississippi

Find a Community within Mississippi

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023