A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for IowaQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for Iowa (IA)

The Commemorative State Quarter for Iowa

Coin Issued: August 30, 2004 - the 4th coin released in 2004

Statehood: December 28, 1846 - the 29th State

Inscriptions: "Iowa 1846", "Foundation in Education", "Grant Wood"

Description: Features a school house and to the right of it, a teacher and students planting a tree. Below the tree is the inscription "Grant Wood". Above the school house is the inscription "Foundation in Education".

The design of Iowa's Quarter is based on "Arbor Day", a painting by Grant Wood.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2004) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by John Mercanti (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'jm').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Iowa Quarter:

E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Iowa Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  251,400,000
Philadelphia (P):  213,800,000
Total:  465,200,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Effigy Mounds National Monument (located north of Marquette, IA) was issued in 2017, the first coin issued in 2017 and the 36th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters were issued in 2017: Effigy Mounds National Monument (Iowa), Frederick Douglass National Historic Site (District of Columbia), Ozark National Scenic Riverways (Missouri), Ellis Island National Monument and the Statue of Liberty (New Jersey & New York) & George Rogers Clark National Historical Park (Indiana).

Quarters Issued in 2004

Details for the Michigan Commemorative Quarter Details for the Florida Commemorative Quarter Details for the Texas Commemorative Quarter Details for the Iowa Commemorative Quarter Details for the Wisconsin Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About Iowa

Find a Community within Iowa

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023