Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
New Hampshire
The Commemorative Quarter for New Hampshire

Time Zone: Merrimack County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Concord is the Seat for Merrimack County. Concord is also the capital of New Hampshire.

Merrimack County was founded in 1823. Merrimack was created by taking area from Hillsborough and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Merrimack had a population of 149,071 people. This is an increase of 9.43% since the last Census (which gave a population of 136,225 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Merrimack represented 11.02% of the total population of New Hampshire, making it the state's 3rd most populous county (out of 10 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010146,445+7.5%-1.76% since 2009
2008148,979+9.36%+0.27% since 2007
2000136,225The Last Census

More information can be found on the Merrimack County Census Page for Merrimack County.


Below are some of the communities located in Merrimack County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Merrimack County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Concord   42,54640,6874.57% increase  
Hooksett   14,00911,72119.52% increase  
Franklin   8,7398,4053.97% increase  
Bow   8,1097,13813.6% increase  
Pembroke   7,3646,8976.77% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About New Hampshire

Find a Community within New Hampshire

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation