A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for New MexicoQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for New Mexico (NM)

The Commemorative State Quarter for New Mexico

Coin Issued: April 7, 2008 - the 2nd coin released in 2008

Statehood: January 6, 1912 - the 47th State

Inscriptions: "New Mexico 1912", "Land of Enchantment"

Description: A Zia Sun Symbol located over the outline of New Mexico.

The distinctive Zia Sun Symbol consists of a circle from which four points radiate. Each of those points consist of four straight lines. The circle represents life and love without beginning or end.

The Zia Sun Symbol originated with the Indians of Zia Pueblo and it represents the Giver of All Good, who gave gifts in groups of four: The directions of the compass (north, east, south and west), the seasons of the year (spring, summer, fall and winter), the parts of a day (sunrise, noon, sunset and the night), the phases of life (childhood, youth, manhood and old age). In addition, their belief that man has four sacred obligations: he must have a strong body, a clear mind, a pure spirit and a devotion to the welfare of his people.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2008) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Don Everhart (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'de').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the New Mexico Quarter:

New Mexico
Land of Enchantment
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of New Mexico Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  244,400,000
Philadelphia (P):  244,200,000
Total:  488,600,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Chaco Culture National Historical Park (located in northwest New Mexico) was issued in 2012, the second coin issued in 2012 and the 12th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters were issued in 2012: El Yunque National Forest (Puerto Rico), Chaco Culture National Historical Park (New Mexico), Acadia National Park (Maine), Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park (Hawaii) & Denali National Park (Alaska).

Quarters Issued in 2008 (Click on Quarter for details)




Details for the Oklahoma Commemorative Quarter Details for the New Mexico Commemorative Quarter Details for the Arizona Commemorative Quarter Details for the Alaska Commemorative Quarter Details for the Hawaii Commemorative Quarter
Note: All coin images have come from the United States Mint

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About New Mexico

Find a Community within New Mexico

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023