A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for ArizonaQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for Arizona (AZ)

The Commemorative State Quarter for Arizona

Coin Issued: June 2, 2008 - the 3rd coin released in 2008

Statehood: February 14, 1912 - the 48th State

Inscriptions: "Arizona 1912", "Grand Canyon State"

Description: To the upper left: an image of the Grand Canyon with a setting sun in the background.

Below and to the right is a Saguaro Cactus, Arizona's State flower.

Separating the Grand Canyon and the Saguaro Cactus, which does not grow in the Grand Canyon area, is a banner bearing the inscription 'Grand Canyon State'.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2008) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Joseph Menna (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'jfm').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Arizona Quarter:

The Grand Canyon State
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Arizona Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  265,000,000
Philadelphia (P):  244,600,000
Total:  509,600,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for Grand Canyon National Park (located in northwest Arizona) was issued in 2010 and the fourth coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters were issued in 2010: Hot Springs National Park (Arkansas), Yellowstone National Park (Wyoming), Yosemite National Park (California), Grand Canyon National Park (Arizona) & the Mount Hood National Forest (Oregon).

Quarters Issued in 2008 (Click on Quarter for details)




Details for the Oklahoma Commemorative Quarter Details for the New Mexico Commemorative Quarter Details for the Arizona Commemorative Quarter Details for the Alaska Commemorative Quarter Details for the Hawaii Commemorative Quarter
Note: All coin images have come from the United States Mint

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About Arizona

Find a Community within Arizona

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023