A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for MissouriQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for Missouri (MO)

The Commemorative State Quarter for Missouri

Coin Issued: August 4, 2003 - the 4th coin released in 2003

Statehood: August 10, 1821 - the 24th State

Inscriptions: "Missouri 1821", "Corps of Discovery 1804-2004"

Description: The coin features Lewis and Clark returning down the Missouri River to Saint Louis. Behind Lewis and Clark is the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial (The Gateway Arch). Above the Arch is inscribed "Corps of Discovery 1804-2004".

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2004) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Alfred Maletsky (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'am').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Missouri Quarter:

Corps of Discovery
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Missouri Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  228,200,000
Philadelphia (P):  225,000,000
Total:  453,200,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Ozark National Scenic Riverways (located in south central Missouri) was issued in 2017, the third coin issued in 2017 and the 38th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters were issued in 2017: Effigy Mounds National Monument (Iowa), Frederick Douglass National Historic Site (District of Columbia), Ozark National Scenic Riverways (Missouri), Ellis Island National Monument and the Statue of Liberty (New Jersey & New York) & George Rogers Clark National Historical Park (Indiana).

Quarters Issued in 2003

Details for the Illinois Commemorative Quarter Details for the Alabama Commemorative Quarter Details for the Maine Commemorative Quarter Details for the Missouri Commemorative Quarter Details for the Arkansas Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About Missouri

Find a Community within Missouri

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023