Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Williamson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Franklin is the Seat for Williamson County.

Williamson County was founded in 1799 and was created by taking area from DavidsonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Williamson had a population of 176,838 people. This is an increase of 39.64% since the last Census (which gave a population of 126,638 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Williamson represented 2.23% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 9th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010183,182+44.65%+3.59% since 2009
2009176,838+39.64%+2.63% since 2008
2008172,314+36.07%+3.35% since 2007
2000126,638The Last Census

More information can be found on the Williamson County Census Page for Williamson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Williamson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Williamson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Franklin   60,62941,84244.9% increase  
Brentwood   37,15923,44558.5% increase  
Fairview   8,1125,80039.86% increase  
Nolensville   3,1483,0991.58% increase  
Thompson's Station   2,2691,28376.9% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Find a Community in Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation