Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Davidson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Nashville is the Seat for Davidson County. Nashville is also the capital of Tennessee.

Davidson County was founded in 1783.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Davidson had a population of 635,710 people. This is an increase of 11.55% since the last Census (which gave a population of 569,891 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Davidson represented 10.02% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 2nd most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010626,681+9.97%-1.42% since 2009
2009635,710+11.55%+1.19% since 2008
2008628,207+10.23%+1.1% since 2007
2000569,891The Last Census

More information can be found on the Davidson County Census Page for Davidson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Davidson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Davidson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Goodlettsville   17,29913,78025.54% increase  
Forest Hills   6,1444,71030.45% increase  
Oak Hill   5,4944,49322.28% increase  
Belle Meade   3,5182,94319.54% increase  
Lakewood   2,6352,34112.56% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Search for a Tennessee Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation