Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Fall River County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Hot Springs is the Seat for Fall River County.

Fall River County was founded in 1883 and was created by taking area from CusterCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Fall River had a population of 7,241 people. This is a decrease of 2.84% since the last Census (which gave a population of 7,453 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Fall River represented 0.99% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 25th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,094-4.82%-2.03% since 2009
20097,241-2.84%+1.03% since 2008
20087,167-3.84%-0.61% since 2007
20007,453The Last Census

More information can be found on the Fall River County Census Page for Fall River County.


Below are some of the communities located in Fall River County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Fall River County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Hot Springs   4,0934,1290.87% decrease  
Northeast Fall River   1,8071,8844.09% decrease  
Edgemont   7928678.65% decrease  
Southwest Fall River   3293454.64% decrease  
Oelrichs   1411452.76% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

The Communities of South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation