Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Custer County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Custer is the Seat for Custer County.

Custer County was founded in 1875.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Custer had a population of 7,924 people. This is an increase of 8.92% since the last Census (which gave a population of 7,275 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Custer represented 0.96% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 26th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,216+12.93%+3.69% since 2009
20087,917+8.82%+0.41% since 2007
20007,275The Last Census

More information can be found on the Custer County Census Page for Custer County.


Below are some of the communities located in Custer County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Custer County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Custer   1,9801,8606.45% increase  
Hermosa   35131511.43% increase  
Buffalo Gap   1541646.1% decrease  
Pringle   1131259.6% decrease  
Fairburn   75806.25% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a South Dakota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation