Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
North Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for North Dakota

Time Zone: Divide County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Crosby is the Seat for Divide County.

Divide County was founded in 1910.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Divide had a population of 1,961 people. This is a decrease of 14.1% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,283 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Divide represented 0.36% of the total population of North Dakota, making it the state's 46th most populous county (out of 53 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,071-9.29%+5.61% since 2009
20091,961-14.1%-1.85% since 2008
20081,998-12.48%-0.55% since 2007
20002,283The Last Census

More information can be found on the Divide County Census Page for Divide County.


Below are some of the communities located in Divide County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Divide County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Crosby   9321,08914.42% decrease  
Noonan   13815410.39% decrease  
Fortuna   273112.9% decrease  
Ambrose   202313.04% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About North Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for North Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation