Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Mississippi

Time Zone: Lee County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Tupelo is the Seat for Lee County.

Lee County was founded in 1866. Lee was created by taking area from Itawamba and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lee had a population of 81,913 people. This is an increase of 8.13% since the last Census (which gave a population of 75,755 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lee represented 2.66% of the total population of Mississippi, making it the state's 7th most populous county (out of 82 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201082,910+9.44%+1.22% since 2009
200981,913+8.13%+1.16% since 2008
200880,974+6.89%+1.07% since 2007
200075,755The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lee County Census Page for Lee County.


Below are some of the communities located in Lee County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Lee County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Tupelo   36,33734,2116.21% increase  
Saltillo   4,3283,39327.56% increase  
Verona   3,4163,3342.46% increase  
Baldwyn   3,3323,3210.33% increase  
Nettleton   2,0031,9323.67% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Mississippi

Find a Community in Mississippi

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation