Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Russell County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Russell is the Seat for Russell County.

Russell County was founded February 26, 1867.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Russell had a population of 6,596 people. This is a decrease of 10.5% since the last Census (which gave a population of 7,370 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Russell represented 0.27% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 54th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,970-5.43%+5.67% since 2009
20096,596-10.5%-0.56% since 2008
20086,633-10%-1.35% since 2007
20007,370The Last Census

More information can be found on the Russell County Census Page for Russell County.


Below are some of the communities located in Russell County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Russell County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Russell   4,1854,69610.88% decrease  
Lucas   4074366.65% decrease  
Gorham   32036011.11% decrease  
Dorrance   18320510.73% decrease  
Luray   17920311.82% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Find a Community within Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation