Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Taylor County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Butler is the Seat for Taylor County.

Taylor County was founded in 1852. Taylor was created by taking area from Macon, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Taylor had a population of 8,587 people. This is a decrease of 2.59% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,815 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Taylor represented 0.11% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 134th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,906+1.03%+3.71% since 2009
20098,587-2.59%-1.38% since 2008
20088,707-1.23%+0.6% since 2007
20008,815The Last Census

More information can be found on the Taylor County Census Page for Taylor County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Find a Community within Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation