Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Macon County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Oglethorpe is the Seat for Macon County.

Macon County was founded in 1837. Macon was created by taking area from Houston and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Macon had a population of 13,336 people. This is a decrease of 5.24% since the last Census (which gave a population of 14,074 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Macon represented 0.17% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 107th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201014,740+4.73%+10.53% since 2009
200913,336-5.24%+0.25% since 2008
200813,303-5.48%-0.38% since 2007
200014,074The Last Census

More information can be found on the Macon County Census Page for Macon County.


Below are some of the communities located in Macon County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Macon County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Montezuma   3,6953,9997.6% decrease  
Marshallville   1,1871,33511.09% decrease  
Oglethorpe   1,0821,2009.83% decrease  
Ideal   4775187.92% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Search for a Georgia Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation