Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Talbot County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Talbotton is the Seat for Talbot County.

Talbot County was founded in 1827 and was created by taking area from MuscogeeCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Talbot had a population of 6,355 people. This is a decrease of 2.2% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,498 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Talbot represented 0.08% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 146th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,865+5.65%+8.03% since 2009
20096,355-2.2%-0.89% since 2008
20086,412-1.32%-2.38% since 2007
20006,498The Last Census

More information can be found on the Talbot County Census Page for Talbot County.


Below are some of the communities located in Talbot County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Talbot County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Talbotton   9621,0195.59% decrease  
Woodland   3894329.95% decrease  
Junction City   1681796.15% decrease  
Geneva   1071146.14% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Find a Community located in Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation