Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

The 2000 Census showed that Fulton County had a population of 816,006 people. This represented 9.97% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's most populous county (out of 159 counties).

From the Census Estimates for 2009<1>, Fulton had a population of 1,033,756 people. This is an increase of 26.68% since the 2000 Census.

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010920,581+12.82%-10.95% since 2009
20091,033,756+26.68%+2.01% since 2008
20081,013,356+24.18%+2.28% since 2007
2007990,790+21.42%+2.82% since 2006
2006963,596+18.09%+3.14% since 2005
2005934,242+14.49%+3.14% since 2004
2004905,802+11%+2.72% since 2003
2003881,850+8.07%+2.19% since 2002
2002862,931+5.75%+1.9% since 2001
2001846,877+3.78%+3.78% since 2000
2000816,006The Last Census

Fulton County had 348,632 Housing Units<2> at the time of the 2000 Census.

The 2000 Census shows that Fulton County has a total area<3> of 534 square miles [1,384 km²]. Of this total, 528 square miles [1,369 km²] of the area is land, with the balance (1.11%) being water (5.95 square miles [15.42 km²]).

Using the above population and land area values, Fulton County had a population density of 1,543 people per square mile [595 people/km²], making it the state's 4th most densely populated county (out of 159 counties).

US Census QuickFacts

The Census Bureau has created documents containing demographic information that are called QuickFacts. A QuickFact that is specific to Fulton County is available. The QuickFact also contains a comparison between Fulton and the state of Georgia.

Click here for the Fulton County QuickFact (QF-13121).

Below are some of the communities that are located in Fulton County:

(2009 Est)
(2000 Census)
Change in
East PointQF-132572043,44139,5959.71%
College ParkQF-131777620,56220,3820.88%
Union CityQF-137832417,49911,62150.58%

Below are the counties that adjoin and form the boundaries of Fulton County. A link to their specific Census QuickFact has been provided.

(2009 Est.)
(2000 Census)
Change in
CarrollQF-13045   W114,77887,26831.52%
CherokeeQF-13057   N215,084141,90351.57%
ClaytonQF-13063   S275,772236,51716.6%
CobbQF-13067   NW714,692607,75117.6%
CowetaQF-13077   SW127,11189,21542.48%
DeKalbQF-13089   E747,274665,86512.23%
DouglasQF-13097   W129,70392,17440.72%
FayetteQF-13113   S106,78891,26317.01%
ForsythQF-13117   NE174,52098,40777.35%
GwinnettQF-13135   NE808,167588,44837.34%

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

The Communities of Georgia

Off-the-Road Links ...

U.S. Census Bureau
Census QuickFact for Fulton County

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>A Housing Unit is a broad term for those places where people live (whether occupied or temporarily vacant), such as a house, an apartment, a mobile home, or an area that is considered as a separate living quarter. Separate living quarters (consisting of one or more rooms) are considered to be those places where people live, sleep and eat separately from others and that have access to the outside (either directly or by a shared hallway).

- Return to Citation

<3>The area value has been supplied by the US Census Bureau and it can be different than the geographic boundaries of Fulton. The value given by the Census Bureau reflects their statistical (or sampling) requirements.

- Return to Citation

<4>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation