Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Chattooga County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Summerville is the Seat for Chattooga County.

Chattooga County was founded in 1838. Chattooga was created by taking area from Walker and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Chattooga had a population of 26,619 people. This is an increase of 4.51% since the last Census (which gave a population of 25,470 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Chattooga represented 0.31% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 60th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201026,015+2.14%-2.27% since 2009
200926,619+4.51%-0.84% since 2008
200826,845+5.4%-0.09% since 2007
200025,470The Last Census

More information can be found on the Chattooga County Census Page for Chattooga County.


Below are some of the communities located in Chattooga County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Chattooga County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Summerville   4,9724,5569.13% increase  
Trion   2,0311,9931.91% increase  
Menlo   5254858.25% increase  
Lyerly   5164885.74% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Find a Community in Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation