A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for Rhode IslandQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for Rhode Island (RI)

The Commemorative State Quarter for Rhode Island

Coin Issued: May 21, 2001 - the 3rd coin released in 2001

Statehood: May 29, 1790 - the 13th State

Inscriptions: "Rhode Island 1790", "The Ocean State"

Description: A gaff-rigged sloop in Narragansett Bay, with the Claiborne Pell Bridge in the background.

The Claiborne Pell Bridge (also known as the Newport Bridge) is a suspension bridge that spans the East Passage of Narragansett Bay. The bridge connects the City of Newport on Aquidneck Island with the Town of Jamestown on Conanicut Island.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2001) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Thomas D. Rodgers.

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the Rhode Island Quarter:

Rhode Island
The Ocean State
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Rhode Island Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  447,100,000
Philadelphia (P):  423,000,000
Total:  870,100,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Block Island National Wildlife Refuge (located on Block Island, Rhode Island) will be issued in 2018, the last coin issued in 2018 and the 45th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters will be issued in 2018: Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore (Michigan), Apostle Islands National Lakeshore (Wisconsin), Voyageurs National Park (Minnesota), Cumberland Island National Seashore (Georgia) & Block Island National Wildlife Refuge (Rhode Island).

Quarters Issued in 2001



Details for the New York Commemorative Quarter Details for the North Carolina Commemorative Quarter Details for the Rhode Island Commemorative Quarter Details for the Vermont Commemorative Quarter Details for the Kentucky Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About Rhode Island

Find a Community within Rhode Island

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023