A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Home >>  Quarter for North DakotaQuarters

Commemorative Quarter
for North Dakota (ND)

The Commemorative State Quarter for North Dakota

Coin Issued: August 28, 2006 - the 4th coin released in 2006

Statehood: November 2, 1889 - the 39th State (North Dakota and South Dakota both were admitted on the same day)

Inscription: "North Dakota 1889"

Description: A pair of American bison with the sun setting behind a butte that represents North Dakota's Badlands region.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2006) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the tail or State-side of the Quarter) was created by Donna Weaver (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'dw').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Reverse Inscriptions for the North Dakota Quarter:

North Dakota
E. Pluribus Unum

Obverse Inscriptions:

United States of America
In God We Trust
Quarter Dollar

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of North Dakota Quarters Minted:

Denver (D):  359,000,000
Philadelphia (P):  305,800,000
Total:  664,800,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series

The quarter for the Theodore Roosevelt National Park (located at Medora, ND) was issued in 2016, the fourth coin issued in 2016 and the 34th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters were issued in 2016: Shawnee National Forest (Illinois), Cumberland Gap National Historical Park (Kentucky), Harpers Ferry National Historical Park (West Virginia), Theodore Roosevelt National Park (North Dakota) & Fort Moultrie/Fort Sumter National Monuments (South Carolina).

Quarters Issued in 2006



Details for the Nevada Commemorative Quarter Details for the Nebraska Commemorative Quarter Details for the Colorado Commemorative Quarter Details for the North Dakota Commemorative Quarter Details for the South Dakota Commemorative Quarter

Commemorative Quarters by State

Commemorative Quarters by Year of Issue

About North Dakota

Find a Community within North Dakota

The United States Mint


Copyright 2023
All Rights Reserved

Thank you for visiting our website.

In closing, please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write: Click here to contact us.

This page was last modified/updated: 05 Dec 2023