Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Van Buren County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Clinton is the Seat for Van Buren County.

Van Buren County was founded in 1833. Van Buren was created by taking area from Conway, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Van Buren had a population of 16,418 people. This is an increase of 1.4% since the last Census (which gave a population of 16,192 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Van Buren represented 0.61% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 48th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201017,295+6.81%+5.34% since 2009
200916,418+1.4%-0.45% since 2008
200816,493+1.86%+0.19% since 2007
200016,192The Last Census

More information can be found on the Van Buren County Census Page for Van Buren County.


Below are some of the communities located in Van Buren County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Van Buren County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Clinton   2,5982,28313.8% increase  
Damascus   38430625.49% increase  
Shirley   3333371.19% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Find a Community within Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation