Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Independence County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Batesville is the Seat for Independence County.

Independence County was founded in 1820 and was created by taking area from LawrenceCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Independence had a population of 34,634 people. This is an increase of 1.17% since the last Census (which gave a population of 34,233 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Independence represented 1.28% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 20th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201036,647+7.05%+5.81% since 2009
200934,634+1.17%+0.37% since 2008
200034,233The Last Census

More information can be found on the Independence County Census Page for Independence County.


Below are some of the communities located in Independence County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Independence County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Batesville   9,4369,4450.1% decrease  
Cave City   2,0201,9463.8% increase  
Newark   1,2261,2190.57% increase  
Cushman   4704611.95% increase  
Sulphur Rock   4284211.66% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Visit our Community Index for Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation