Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Alabama

Time Zone: Dale County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Ozark is the Seat for Dale County.

Dale County was founded in 1824. Dale was created by taking area from Covington and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Dale had a population of 48,147 people. This is a decrease of 2% since the last Census (which gave a population of 49,129 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Dale represented 1.1% of the total population of Alabama, making it the state's 26th most populous county (out of 67 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201050,251+2.28%+4.37% since 2009
200948,147-2%-0.52% since 2008
200848,400-1.48%+0.28% since 2007
200049,129The Last Census

More information can be found on the Dale County Census Page for Dale County.


Below are some of the communities located in Dale County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Dale County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Dothan   67,52557,73716.95% increase  
Ozark   14,58815,1193.51% decrease  
Daleville   4,5324,6532.6% decrease  
Midland City   1,8901,70310.98% increase  
Newton   1,6521,7083.28% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Alabama

Search for a Community located in Alabama

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation