Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Wyoming

Time Zone: Niobrara County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Lusk is the Seat for Niobrara County.

Niobrara County was founded in 1911 and was created by taking area from ConverseCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Niobrara had a population of 2,366 people. This is a decrease of 1.7% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,407 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Niobrara represented 0.49% of the total population of Wyoming, making it the state's 23rd most populous county (out of 23 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,484+3.2%+4.99% since 2009
20082,364-1.79%+1.16% since 2007
20002,407The Last Census

More information can be found on the Niobrara County Census Page for Niobrara County.


Below are some of the communities located in Niobrara County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Niobrara County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Lusk   1,4291,4471.24% decrease  
Manville   --101 
Van Tassell   --18 

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Wyoming

Search for a Community in Wyoming

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation