Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Wyoming

Time Zone: Carbon County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Rawlins is the Seat for Carbon County.

Carbon County is one of the original counties of Wyoming and was founded in 1868.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Carbon had a population of 15,720 people. This is an increase of 0.52% since the last Census (which gave a population of 15,639 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Carbon represented 3.17% of the total population of Wyoming, making it the state's 11th most populous county (out of 23 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201015,885+1.57%+1.05% since 2009
200915,720+0.52%+1% since 2008
200815,564-0.48%+1.08% since 2007
200015,639The Last Census

More information can be found on the Carbon County Census Page for Carbon County.


Below are some of the communities located in Carbon County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Carbon County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Rawlins   8,7938,5382.99% increase  
Saratoga   1,7781,7263.01% increase  
Hanna   8718730.23% decrease  
Baggs   42334821.55% increase  
Sinclair   4064234.02% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Wyoming

Search for a Community located in Wyoming

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation