Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
West Virginia
The Commemorative Quarter for West Virginia

Time Zone: Raleigh County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Beckley is the Seat for Raleigh County.

Raleigh County was founded in 1850 and was created by taking area from FayetteCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Raleigh had a population of 79,187 people.

At the time of the 2000 Census, Raleigh represented 4.38% of the total population of West Virginia, making it the state's 5th most populous county (out of 55 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201078,859-0.46%-0.41% since 2009
200878,730-0.62%+0.16% since 2007
200079,220The Last Census

More information can be found on the Raleigh County Census Page for Raleigh County.


Below are some of the communities located in Raleigh County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Raleigh County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Beckley   16,75817,2542.87% decrease  
Mabscott   1,3331,4034.99% decrease  
Sophia   1,2241,3015.92% decrease  
Lester   3143222.48% decrease  
Rhodell   2272342.99% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About West Virginia

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for West Virginia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation