Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
West Virginia
The Commemorative Quarter for West Virginia

Time Zone: Fayette County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Fayetteville is the Seat for Fayette County.

Fayette County was founded in 1831. Fayette was created by taking area from Kanawha, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Fayette had a population of 46,123 people. This is a decrease of 3.06% since the last Census (which gave a population of 47,579 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Fayette represented 2.63% of the total population of West Virginia, making it the state's 11th most populous county (out of 55 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201046,039-3.24%-0.18% since 2009
200946,123-3.06%-0.35% since 2008
200047,579The Last Census

More information can be found on the Fayette County Census Page for Fayette County.


Below are some of the communities located in Fayette County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Fayette County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Oak Hill   7,1517,5895.77% decrease  
Fayetteville   2,6772,7542.8% decrease  
Montgomery   1,9121,9421.54% decrease  
Ansted   1,5711,5760.32% decrease  
Mount Hope   1,3641,4878.27% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About West Virginia

Search for a West Virginia Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation