Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Wisconsin

Time Zone: Lafayette County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Darlington is the Seat for Lafayette County.

Lafayette County was founded in 1846 and was created by taking area from IowaCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lafayette had a population of 15,737 people. This is a decrease of 2.48% since the last Census (which gave a population of 16,137 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lafayette represented 0.3% of the total population of Wisconsin, making it the state's 60th most populous county (out of 72 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201016,836+4.33%+6.98% since 2009
200915,737-2.48%-0.45% since 2008
200016,137The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lafayette County Census Page for Lafayette County.


Below are some of the communities located in Lafayette County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Lafayette County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Darlington   2,2442,4187.2% decrease  
Shullsburg   1,1331,2469.07% decrease  
Benton   9499762.77% decrease  
Belmont   8898712.07% increase  
Wiota   8589004.67% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Wisconsin

The Communities of Wisconsin

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation