Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Wisconsin

Time Zone: Iowa County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Dodgeville is the Seat for Iowa County.

Iowa County was founded in 1829.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Iowa had a population of 23,498 people. This is an increase of 3.15% since the last Census (which gave a population of 22,780 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Iowa represented 0.42% of the total population of Wisconsin, making it the state's 48th most populous county (out of 72 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201023,687+3.98%+0.8% since 2009
200923,498+3.15%-0.55% since 2008
200823,628+3.72%+0.28% since 2007
200022,780The Last Census

More information can be found on the Iowa County Census Page for Iowa County.


Below are some of the communities located in Iowa County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Iowa County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Dodgeville   4,4854,2206.28% increase  
Mineral Point   2,5202,6173.71% decrease  
Dodgeville   1,6781,40719.26% increase  
Arena   1,4661,4441.52% increase  
Barneveld   1,1921,0889.56% increase  

Websites for Iowa County

Official Website:   www.iowacounty.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Iowa County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Wisconsin

Communities in Wisconsin

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation