Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Utah

Time Zone: Wayne County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Loa is the Seat for Wayne County.

Wayne County was founded in 1892 and was created by taking area from PiuteCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Wayne had a population of 2,601 people. This is an increase of 3.67% since the last Census (which gave a population of 2,509 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Wayne represented 0.11% of the total population of Utah, making it the state's 26th most populous county (out of 29 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20102,778+10.72%+6.81% since 2009
20092,601+3.67%+1.68% since 2008
20082,558+1.95%+2.85% since 2007
20002,509The Last Census

More information can be found on the Wayne County Census Page for Wayne County.


Below are some of the communities located in Wayne County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Wayne County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Loa   5145252.1% decrease  
Bicknell   3473531.7% decrease  
Lyman   2302341.71% decrease  
Torrey   19217112.28% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Utah

Communities in Utah

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation