Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Utah

Time Zone: San Juan County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Monticello is the Seat for San Juan County.

San Juan County was founded in 1880. San Juan was created by taking area from Kane, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> San Juan had a population of 15,049 people. This is an increase of 4.41% since the last Census (which gave a population of 14,413 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, San Juan represented 0.65% of the total population of Utah, making it the state's 16th most populous county (out of 29 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201014,746+2.31%-2.01% since 2009
200915,049+4.41%+1.22% since 2008
200814,868+3.16%+3.41% since 2007
200014,413The Last Census

More information can be found on the San Juan County Census Page for San Juan County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Utah

Visit our Community Index for Utah

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation