Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Texas

Time Zone: Morris County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Daingerfield is the Seat for Morris County.

Morris County was founded in 1875 and was created by taking area from TitusCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Morris had a population of 12,635 people. This is a decrease of 3.17% since the last Census (which gave a population of 13,048 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Morris represented 0.06% of the total population of Texas, making it the state's 150th most populous county (out of 254 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201012,934-0.87%+2.37% since 2009
200912,635-3.17%-1.45% since 2008
200812,821-1.74%-1.48% since 2007
200013,048The Last Census

More information can be found on the Morris County Census Page for Morris County.


Below are some of the communities located in Morris County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Morris County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Daingerfield   2,3752,5175.64% decrease  
Lone Star   1,5491,6315.03% decrease  
Naples   1,3731,4102.62% decrease  
Omaha   9839991.6% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Texas

The Communities of Texas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation