Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Texas

Time Zone: DeWitt County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Cuero is the Seat for DeWitt County.

DeWitt County was founded in 1846. DeWitt was created by taking area from Goliad, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> DeWitt had a population of 19,713 people. This is a decrease of 1.5% since the last Census (which gave a population of 20,013 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, DeWitt represented 0.1% of the total population of Texas, making it the state's 117th most populous county (out of 254 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201020,097+0.42%+1.95% since 2009
200919,713-1.5%+0.44% since 2008
200819,626-1.93%-0.47% since 2007
200020,013The Last Census

More information can be found on the DeWitt County Census Page for DeWitt County.


Below are some of the communities located in DeWitt County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for DeWitt County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Cuero   6,4746,5711.48% decrease  
Yoakum   5,4415,7315.06% decrease  
Yorktown   2,1622,2714.8% decrease  
Nordheim   3203230.93% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Texas

Find a Community in Texas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation