Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Union County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Maynardville is the Seat for Union County.

Union County was founded in 1850. Union was created by taking area from Grainger, , , and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Union had a population of 19,164 people. This is an increase of 7.61% since the last Census (which gave a population of 17,808 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Union represented 0.31% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 67th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201019,109+7.31%-0.29% since 2009
200919,164+7.61%+0.24% since 2008
200819,118+7.36%+0.99% since 2007
200017,808The Last Census

More information can be found on the Union County Census Page for Union County.


Websites for Union County

Official Website:   www.unioncountytn.org/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Union County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Visit our Community Index for Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation