Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Anderson County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Clinton is the Seat for Anderson County.

Anderson County was founded in 1801. Anderson was created by taking area from Knox and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Anderson had a population of 74,849 people. This is an increase of 4.93% since the last Census (which gave a population of 71,330 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Anderson represented 1.25% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 15th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201075,129+5.33%+0.37% since 2009
200974,849+4.93%+0.9% since 2008
200874,182+4%+1.17% since 2007
200071,330The Last Census

More information can be found on the Anderson County Census Page for Anderson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Anderson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Anderson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Oak Ridge   27,75127,3871.33% increase  
Clinton   9,7139,4093.23% increase  
Oliver Springs   3,3503,3031.42% increase  
Norris   1,4891,4462.97% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census. For more information, please visit the U.S. Census Bureau.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation