Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Morgan County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Wartburg is the Seat for Morgan County.

Morgan County was founded in 1817. Morgan was created by taking area from Anderson and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Morgan had a population of 18,738 people. This is a decrease of 5.16% since the last Census (which gave a population of 19,757 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Morgan represented 0.35% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 65th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201021,987+11.29%+17.34% since 2009
200918,738-5.16%-4.24% since 2008
200019,757The Last Census

More information can be found on the Morgan County Census Page for Morgan County.


Below are some of the communities located in Morgan County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Morgan County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Harriman   6,6416,7441.53% decrease  
Wartburg   9128902.47% increase  
Sunbright   5925772.6% increase  
Oakdale   2322444.92% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Search for a Tennessee Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation