Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Lewis County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Hohenwald is the Seat for Lewis County.

Lewis County was founded in 1843. Lewis was created by taking area from Hickman, , and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lewis had a population of 11,521 people. This is an increase of 1.35% since the last Census (which gave a population of 11,367 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lewis represented 0.2% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 84th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201012,161+6.99%+5.56% since 2009
200911,521+1.35%+0.1% since 2008
200811,510+1.26%-0.16% since 2007
200011,367The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lewis County Census Page for Lewis County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Cities, Towns and Villages of Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation