Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Maury County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Columbia is the Seat for Maury County.

Maury County was founded in 1807.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Maury had a population of 84,302 people. This is an increase of 21.3% since the last Census (which gave a population of 69,498 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Maury represented 1.22% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 17th most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201080,956+16.49%-3.97% since 2009
200984,302+21.3%+1.9% since 2008
200882,727+19.04%+2.87% since 2007
200069,498The Last Census

More information can be found on the Maury County Census Page for Maury County.


Below are some of the communities located in Maury County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Maury County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Columbia   35,24833,0556.63% increase  
Spring Hill   27,3697,715254.8% increase  
Mount Pleasant   4,5384,4911.05% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Find a Community located in Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation