Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Hancock County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Sneedville is the Seat for Hancock County.

Hancock County was founded in 1844. Hancock was created by taking area from Hawkins and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Hancock had a population of 6,588 people. This is a decrease of 2.92% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,786 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Hancock represented 0.12% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 92nd most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,819+0.49%+3.51% since 2009
20096,588-2.92%-0.29% since 2008
20086,607-2.64%-1.08% since 2007
20006,786The Last Census

More information can be found on the Hancock County Census Page for Hancock County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

The Communities of Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation