Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Hawkins County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Rogersville is the Seat for Hawkins County.

Hawkins County was founded in 1786 and was created by taking area from SullivanCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Hawkins had a population of 57,784 people. This is an increase of 7.88% since the last Census (which gave a population of 53,563 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Hawkins represented 0.94% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 23rd most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201056,833+6.1%-1.65% since 2009
200957,784+7.88%+0.57% since 2008
200857,459+7.27%+0.76% since 2007
200053,563The Last Census

More information can be found on the Hawkins County Census Page for Hawkins County.


Below are some of the communities located in Hawkins County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Hawkins County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Church Hill   6,8025,91614.98% increase  
Mount Carmel   5,4704,79514.08% increase  
Rogersville   4,3414,2402.38% increase  
Surgoinsville   1,8201,48422.64% increase  
Bulls Gap   7487144.76% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Cities, Towns and Villages of Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation