Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Tennessee

Time Zone: Dickson County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Charlotte is the Seat for Dickson County.

Dickson County was founded in 1803. Dickson was created by taking area from Montgomery and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Dickson had a population of 48,230 people. This is an increase of 11.76% since the last Census (which gave a population of 43,156 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Dickson represented 0.76% of the total population of Tennessee, making it the state's 31st most populous county (out of 95 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201049,666+15.08%+2.98% since 2009
200948,230+11.76%+0.66% since 2008
200847,915+11.03%+1.06% since 2007
200043,156The Last Census

More information can be found on the Dickson County Census Page for Dickson County.


Below are some of the communities located in Dickson County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Dickson County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Dickson   14,01912,24414.5% increase  
White Bluff   2,5342,14218.3% increase  
Burns   1,4621,3667.03% increase  
Charlotte   1,1661,1531.13% increase  
Vanleer   3303106.45% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Tennessee

Visit our Community Index for Tennessee

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation