Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Roberts County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Sisseton is the Seat for Roberts County.

Roberts County was founded in 1883 and was created by taking area from GrantCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Roberts had a population of 9,933 people. This is a decrease of 0.83% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,016 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Roberts represented 1.33% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 17th most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201010,149+1.33%+2.17% since 2009
20099,933-0.83%-0.18% since 2008
20089,951-0.65%+0.09% since 2007
200010,016The Last Census

More information can be found on the Roberts County Census Page for Roberts County.


Below are some of the communities located in Roberts County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Roberts County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Sisseton   2,4542,5724.59% decrease  
Wilmot   5205434.24% decrease  
Rosholt   4274191.91% increase  
Summit   2732812.85% decrease  
New Effington   2262333% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for South Dakota

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation