Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
South Dakota
The Commemorative Quarter for South Dakota

Time Zone: Grant County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Milbank is the Seat for Grant County.

Grant County was founded in 1873. Grant was created by taking area from Codington and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Grant had a population of 7,068 people. This is a decrease of 9.93% since the last Census (which gave a population of 7,847 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Grant represented 1.04% of the total population of South Dakota, making it the state's 23rd most populous county (out of 66 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,356-6.26%+4.07% since 2009
20097,068-9.93%-0.59% since 2008
20087,110-9.39%-0.62% since 2007
20007,847The Last Census

More information can be found on the Grant County Census Page for Grant County.


Below are some of the communities located in Grant County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Grant County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Milbank   3,1673,64012.99% decrease  
Big Stone City   53960510.91% decrease  
Revillo   13114710.88% decrease  
Stockholm   9210512.38% decrease  
La Bolt   758612.79% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About South Dakota

Search for a South Dakota Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation